PanPastel Challenge Blog – Challenge 10 – Animals

Standard

Hello everyone, it’s time for a new challenge over at the PanPastel Challenge Blog the challenge is sponsored by Your Creativity Store and the prize is a fab taster pack of PanPastels and sofft tools (colours may vary).

 

Ok so the challenge this week is Animals and I must admit I got a little carried away with this one as animals are one of the things that I really enjoy drawing and I couldn’t choose between the drawings I had done so I just made cards with all of them. Before I show you the cards I  just want to remind you that you can use any medium to enter the challenge so I hope you will come over to the challenge blog and join in as we love to see your creations.

To make this card I began with a sheet of orange leather effect A4 card I measured and scored a vertical line at 74mm in from the left hand side of the card and 148mm in from the left hand side of the card (with the card in a landscape position). I then measured and marked 74mm in from the right hand side at the top and the bottom of the card (do not score a line between these two points). Next I measured and marked halfway up the right hand edge of the card (105mm). When I had marked all my measurements on the right hand side of the card I scored lines from the mark halfway up the right hand edge to the measurements 74mm in from the right hand side at the top of the card and then again from the halfway up mark to  the mark at 74mm in at the bottom of the card. Next I scored lines diagonally from the top measurement at 74mm in from the right hand side to the bottom of the score line 74mm in from left hand side and from the bottom measurement 74mm in from right hand side to the top of the score line 74mm in from the left hand side. This sounds far more complicated than it actually is so below is a  picture of how the score lines should drawn in on rough paper so that they are easier to see.

 

I have then cut along the scorelines that go from the marks 74mm in from the right hand side to the mark halfway up the edge to form my diamond shape as shown in the picture above.

 

The next stage is to fold the card, to  do this first I  fold each score line back and forth individually to loosen them up, then I fold the score line 74mm in from the left so that the rectangular panel 74mm wide comes towards me (with  the front side of the card facing you). I then push the score line at 148mm in from the left backwards at both the top and the bottom of the card so that the smaller triangle panels sit behind the diamond shaped panel and the larger triangle panel is sitting on the rectangle panel.

 

Next I cut a piece of ribbon 210mm long and stuck it along the center of the rectangle panel I then put a decent amount of Collal glue gel on the larger triangle panel and stuck it  on to the rectangle panel overlapping the ribbon. I used wooden clothes pegs at the back to hold this in place whilst the glue dries (I would recommend leaving the pegs on over night to make sure the glue is completely dry before removing them and the card will not then spring apart).

 

Next I drew my leopard image, coloured it using PanPastels and cut it out using Spellbinders dies, I also cut out a slightly larger piece of gold card using the same set of Spellbinders to mount it on to. When I had mounted my image I then stuck it in to place on my card.

 

To decorate I attached metal flower charms to either side of the image and a “hand made with love” charm above the image  and finally placed a metal sentiment tag that says “priceless” below the image.

 

Ok, so that’s the first card finished……………..

To make this card I began with a piece of white A4 card (in landscape position) and measured and scored vertical lines at 99mm in from the left hand side of the card and 198mm in from the left hand side of the card.

 

I then cut my window in the first panel of the card using Spellbinders dies and folded my card so that the right hand panel folded over the center panel and then the left hand panel (with the aperture / window ) folded over the top of both the others. I then decorated the panels with patterned papers that were free from a magazine and cut out mounts in blue mirror board and white card using the same Spellbinders dies that i used for my window. I then drew my seal image on one of the white mounts and coloured using PanPastels, mounted it on to the  blue mirror board and stuck it in to place (on the right hand panel so that it can be seen through the window when the card is closed). Next I took the other white mount,  stuck my peel offs in to place, mounted on to mirror board and stuck it in to place in the center panel.

 

Finally I decorated by adding a joy charm and a bow made from blue silk ribbon to the front panel and snowflake glitter peel offs to all of the panels.

 

So that’s 2 down ………… does anybody else have a headache lol ….. no just me then …… my brain hurts! hehe!

This card is quite a simple one, I began with a 5″ x 5″ card blank and layered on some silver card and patterned papers from My Minds Eye Lost and Found collection, I drew my elephants on A4 paper, scanned them in to my computer, shrunk them down to the size I wanted and printed them on to white card. Next I coloured them in using PanPastels, cut out the image and stuck it in to place, decorating with some Papermania irridescant shimmer dots.

Hurrah! Last card and its another simple one, again I started with a 5″ x 5″ card blank this  time  using gold card and more papers from My Minds Eye Lost and Found collection I then drew my bear  scanned him in to my computer, re-sized him and printed him out on to white card colouring him in with PanPastels. Next I cut him out stuck him to the card and then also stuck my peel offs in place. Finally I decorated with the chipboard  outdoors die cut (I don’t remember where this came from sorry) and a little gold bow.

Thank you for reading this post, as always I love to hear any comments that you have and I hope you will come over to the challenge blog and join in as we love to see your creations.

Lindsay xx

About craftymonster81

I have always enjoyed arts and crafts of many different kinds and have recently found that card making / paper craft is a real passion for me. I draw / paint alot of my own designs for my cards but also use products from many of the well loved crafty names out there too. I am currently looking for work as an illustrator / craft designer and have now set up a page on this blog called My Artwork Gallery to show some of my work. I love to see your comments on either my artwork or my cards so please feel free to leave any comments you may have and if anyone is interested in any of my artwork please feel free to contact me. Thanks for looking at my blog. Lindsay xx

3 responses »

  1. OMG ! These are gorgeous Lindsay ! Your drawings are fantastic ! You are such a clever lady ! Thanks for the tutorial ! Hugs and love from Catherine

  2. gosh you have been busy hun I adore animals,and these are just fantastic hun,you are so super talented,hugs cherylxxxx

Leave a Reply

