LOTV challenge card and card making tutorial / walk through guide to making a pop out aperture card

Standard

Hi everyone hope you are all having a lovely evening tonight’s post is sort of a two for one as I had been meaning to do a pop out aperture card tutorial / walk through guide post on here for a while and hadn’t gotten round to it so I decided to make one for the Lili of  the valley challenge and combine the challenge entry with a tutorial.

I would like to enter  this card in to the Lili of the valley blog challenge 119 – Bright and sparkly

To begin making this card I took a sheet of 12″ x 12″ red card and scored it down the center (6″) and folded it over, next I measured 6″ in the other direction and cut along the line so that I had two 6″ x 6″ card base’s. I put one to one side and scored the other one at 3″ in from the left (when open) and 3″ in from the right (score lines going in the same direction as the center score line / vertically).

 

When you have scored your lines fold  the card back on itself as shown in the picture above.  Next draw your half picture along the center score line ( I have drawn a Christmas tree but you can choose any shape that suits your card, if you are not confident drawing your own shape you can choose a shape from an embossing board and emboss the design in) when your picture is drawn cut it out using either scissors or a craft knife making sure to cut both sides of the score line at once to create your aperture  (also make sure you leave enough room around the design at the top and bottom of your card so that it doesn’t lose stability).

 

Now the main pieces of your  card base are ready to put together, to do this you need  to apply glue  to the two 3″ panels and then stick them to the other base card that we didn’t  score as shown in the picture above. As you can see I have turned  to my trusty clothes pegs again to hold it in place whilst the glue sets.

I then set my card base aside for the glue to set and began work on the decorations for my card, I took a sheet of  Elegance Satin Super Smooth card and stamped out my Lili Of The Valley bear stamp 3 times and a greeting stamp from a freebie set that came with Cardmaking and Papercraft magazine. I then coloured in all 3 images exactly the same with my promarkers. I then cut around two  of my images along the out line and cut my third image and my greeting out using  circle dies from xcut. Next I cut out two slightly larger scalloped circles in gold card using xcut dies and then layered my topper and my greeting on to the scalloped circles, I also used a quickie glue pen to decorate them with glitter.

  

I then took my other two images and mounted them on to both sides of a piece of red card, sticking a piece of raffia so that each edge is underneath one of the images to make a little hanging decoration.

Next I cut out one panel of gold card 5.5″ x 5.5″ and two pieces 2.5″ x 5.5″ and one piece of green paper from Papermania’s Deck  the halls paper pack (which I won from Cardmaking and Papercraft magazine in their friday facebook challenge) in 5″ x 5″  and two pieces 2″ x 5″ and finally I cut out strips of paper from the My Minds Eye paper pack that came free with Cardmaking and Papercraft one 1.5″ x 5″ and two 1.5″ x 2″. I rounded the corners on all of my panels except for the strips from the My Minds Eye and then stuck them in to place on my card.

Finally I stuck my mounted image and greeting to the front of my card and  my hanging decoration so that it hung in the aperture of the base card (I only used normal tape to stick it on the inside of the pop out section so that the person who receive’s the card can easily detach it from the card and use it as a decoration).

 

This completes my card making tutorial / walk through guide, I hope you have enjoyed it, please feel free to let me know how you get on if you try it yourself and as always I love to hear your comments. Thank you for reading this post.

Lindsay xx

About craftymonster81

I have always enjoyed arts and crafts of many different kinds and have recently found that card making / paper craft is a real passion for me. I draw / paint alot of my own designs for my cards but also use products from many of the well loved crafty names out there too. I am currently looking for work as an illustrator / craft designer and have now set up a page on this blog called My Artwork Gallery to show some of my work. I love to see your comments on either my artwork or my cards so please feel free to leave any comments you may have and if anyone is interested in any of my artwork please feel free to contact me. Thanks for looking at my blog. Lindsay xx

14 responses »

  1. Oh wow Lindsay your card is gorgeous and this is a fabulous Tutorial, I must have a go at this.xxx

  2. Lindsay thank you for providing not only great photographs for reference, but for generously sharing the exact dimensions for the project. I appreciate all your time to prepare this post and love your beautiful card.

  3. This is one gorgeous card Lindsay and super tut as well, a perfect take for our Bright and Sparkly theme this week.
    Thank you for joining us at Lili of the Valley.
    Hugs,
    Nicola

  4. Hi Lindsay, What a brilliant card – so clever. Wonderful image, and great colour scheme. Very clear tutorial as well, thank you for posting it. Sarah

  5. This looks so clever! You always surprise me with your cards and this is no exception 🙂

    It looks brilliant hun!

    hugs

    xxalisonxx

Leave a Reply

