PanPastel Challenge blog – Challenge 7 – Dark and Mysterious gate fold easel card making tutorial / walk through guide

Standard

Hi here’s my card for this weeks PanPastel Challenge blog Inspiration, this week the theme is dark and mysterious, remember you can use any medium to enter the PanPastel  challenges so anybody can enter and I hope you stop by the challenge blog and join in as I love to  see all of your wonderful creations.

In this card making tutorial / walk through guide I will take you through how I made this Gate fold easel with step by step instructions and measurements so that you can try your hand at making your own homemade version of this card.

So here’s my card for Dark and Mysterious, this card took me ages to make, mostly because of the gates! To make my card I began by making a gate fold card (using A4 card the measurements to score are with the card in landscape position 7.4cm in from both the left hand side and the right hand side). I also at this point made my easel base (measurements to score for A4 are 74mm in from the left hand edge and 148.5mm in from the left  hand edge when in landscape position), I put  the easel to one side and went to work on the gate fold base.

With the gate fold base in the closed position I drew my gates and the brick arches above them, I then cut (with the card opened flat) them out using a craft knife (this was what took all the time, if you are going to attempt this be prepared for blisters lol). Next I coloured them with black PanPastel inside and out and then glazed them with clear nail varnish with red glittery bits in it.

Next I used PanPastels to colour the inside of the gate fold, beginning with white and yellow for the moon and then blending in greys and purples for the sky and  the clouds and using greens and browns for the ground.

I then took a piece of black card and used a Cuttlebug embossing folder for the house and then cut around the image and highlighted it with grey PanPastel, I then cut out and embossed the grave stones and trees using Spellbinders Shapeabilities and highlighted them with grey PanPastel and then stuck all of  my shapes in to place and added patches of green and black Flowersoft to the ground for texture.

Next I  coloured the arches with a mixture of red and brown PanPastel for the brick colour and then stuck them in to place, I then took the easel base and drew on the bricks colouring it with the same mixture of red and brown.

I then drew, coloured and cut out my pumpkins to use  as stoppers. I then stuck the gate fold to the easel base and  stuck my pumpkins in to place.

I hope you have enjoyed this card making tutorial / walk through guide please feel free to let me know how you get on with making your own homemade cards.

I hope  you like my attempt at Dark and Mysterious, don’t forget to stop by the PanPastel Challenge blog to join in and also see the beautiful creations from  the other members of the design team (they really are stunning this week) and as if that’s not enough reason to stop  by the PanPastel Challenge blog there is also more exciting news as there  is a new DT call so please come and check it out.

Thanks for  reading this  post as always I love  to hear your comments.

Lindsay xx

About craftymonster81

I have always enjoyed arts and crafts of many different kinds and have recently found that card making / paper craft is a real passion for me. I draw / paint alot of my own designs for my cards but also use products from many of the well loved crafty names out there too. I am currently looking for work as an illustrator / craft designer and have now set up a page on this blog called My Artwork Gallery to show some of my work. I love to see your comments on either my artwork or my cards so please feel free to leave any comments you may have and if anyone is interested in any of my artwork please feel free to contact me. Thanks for looking at my blog. Lindsay xx

15 responses »

  1. Hi Lindsay, oh wow this is so spooky! Those gates are fantastic – so much work has obviously gone into them! Just great. Sarah

  2. O wow this is fabulous, so spooky.. love those gates. .. and I am not surprised it took you ages to do but definitely worth the time! Hugs Dora xxx

  3. Hi Lindsay, love this creation so dark and mysterious, love the detail
    Hugs Kate xx
    ps good luck in the candy draw 🙂

  4. oh this is one brilliant spooky card hun just love the way it opens,one super design hugs cherylxx

  5. Awesome card Lindsay! I love your gates and arch and your coloring is fantastic! All of the details are wonderful! I definitely appreciate the amount of work you put into this card – it’s a fantastic work of art! ~Vanessa

Leave a Reply

