Quick Christmas Cards Using Magazine Freebies

Standard

Hello, I hope  you are all having a good evening and I wish everybody a very happy Guy Fawkes night for tomorrow, firstly I would like to apologise for my lack of posts this week, its been one of those weeks where I really don’t know where the time has gone!

Secondly please check out my new artwork gallery on here, there is not massive amounts on there yet as I am finding that watermarking images is taking up a lot of time but I will be adding a lot more to it over the next few days, I hope you like it and if anybody has any interest in my designs please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thirdly I have begun collecting some candy for when I reach 50 followers (which I am a long way off still) I have some items sitting in a bag in the corner waiting for the day though and will be adding to it between now and then.

One last thing before I get to the cards, don’t forget you only have until tomorrow morning to get your cards in to the Distress theme challenge at the PanPastel blog.

This card was made using freebie papers from Quick Cards Magazine and a home-made christmas pudding topper with a few pearls, a peel off greeting and some ribbon and jingle bells, I wont bore you with the how to’s as it’s a  really simple design.

This card was made using  freebie papers and chipboard shapes from Cardmaking and Papercraft Magazine I also used an edger punch from Woodware, a corner punch from EK Success, snowflake dies from Mariannes Creatables, a peel off sentiment and some red gems from Dovecraft.

To make this card I began with a 5″ x 5″ card black, I then cut out a square of silver holographic glitter card also 5″ x 5″ and  then used my EK Success corner punch on each of the corners. I then measured the square that the corner punch had  created and cut a piece of the red paper to fit inside it and stuck it in place. Next I took the green paper with the trees and cut it to the same height as the red paper but a little shorter than the red paper in width and then used my Woodware  edger punch along the left hand side and stuck  it in to place.

Once this was done I cut out another smaller square of the silver holographic glitter card (8cm x 8cm) and used the EK Success corner punch  again on all four corners and stuck it in to place, then cut out the paper with the robin to fit within the square created by the punch and stuck it in to place.

I then took one of the chipboard shapes  and stuck my peel off greeting on to it then stuck it on to the card at an angle and then finally I cut out two snowflakes from white card using Mariannes Creatables dies, I stuck the smaller snowflake on top of the larger one and then added red self adhesive gems to the smaller snowflake.

The card is now complete.

Thank you for reading this post, I hope to be back with another new post tomorrow and of course Sunday morning there will be a new post for PanPastels  new challenge theme. I love to hear your comments so please do leave a comment and I will then come and visit your blog too.

Lindsay xx

About craftymonster81

I have always enjoyed arts and crafts of many different kinds and have recently found that card making / paper craft is a real passion for me. I draw / paint alot of my own designs for my cards but also use products from many of the well loved crafty names out there too. I am currently looking for work as an illustrator / craft designer and have now set up a page on this blog called My Artwork Gallery to show some of my work. I love to see your comments on either my artwork or my cards so please feel free to leave any comments you may have and if anyone is interested in any of my artwork please feel free to contact me. Thanks for looking at my blog. Lindsay xx

6 responses »

  1. Your two cards are gorgeous Lindsay ! Love this big pudding ! I bought the same magazine but haven’t used the freebies yet ! Hugs and love from Catherine

  2. hiya a couple of gorgeous card, wish the candy card was mine it is a stunner isn’t it, but actually it is that of the winner Liz isn’t she talented 🙂
    hugs Kate xx

  3. Hi these are gorgeous, love the snowflake die on the second card.. me too am always buying cardmaking magazine but mostly use the papers .. got some stuff waiting for me to use them. Have a nice weekend xx

Leave a Reply

