PanPastel UK Challenge Blog – Challenge 6 – Distress It card making tutorial / walk through guide

Standard

Hello all, its time for this weeks new challenge over at the PanPastel challenge blog this week the theme is “Distress it”  so please come along and join in the fun and you could win yourself a £5 online voucher for Your Creativity store.

This card making tutorial / walk through guide will take you through how to make your own homemade cards with distress effects I give you step by step instructions and tell you how to make your own papers.

To begin making this card I began with a sheet of  A4 white card, I used my wood mounted harlequin background stamp from All Night Media several times with perfect medium overlapping and changing the angle I stamped at until the page was more or less covered. I then began to add PanPastel beginning with white to erase a few patches of the pattern and then blended  in shades of brown and some black. Next I used a small texture stamp from the mini set of Tim Holtz Visual Artistry stamps with perfect medium and stamped randomly several times across the page, using black PanPastel  to colour them. I then scored the card in the center to make it an A5 card blank and burnt the edges (obviously  I don’t recommend this to anyone young or clumsy).

 

Next I took another piece of white card stamping out my car images  using perfect medium and colouring them with black PanPastel (one of the car stamps is from the mini Tim Holtz Visual Artistry set  and the other car stamp is from Indigo Blu). When I was happy with the cars I stamped out my clock faces with perfect medium and coloured them with brown PanPastel (one clock face is from Creative Expressions the other is from Indigo Blu). Next I stamped out the Eccentric stamp with Perfect Medium and coloured with brown PanPastel, I then burnt the edges of my stamped images and words and put them to one  side.

Next I  took a small odd piece of green mirror board from my scraps box and screwed it up as much as I could, I then flattened it out and sanded over the creases (on the shiny side) and tore the edges, I then coloured the exposed areas with brown PanPastel.

I then took the piece with my cars and clocks and stuck that to the base card at an angle, then stuck a small piece chicken wire over the top  (scavenged from the garden shed) and layered the green mirror board and the words so that they slightly overlapped one corner of the image.

At this point I must warn you it gets a little destructive as I didn’t have anything to use as embellishments that I felt were right for the card, so I broke an old unused game cube controller and stole its insides! The chip, the wire’s and the spring  are thanks to that brave little controllers sacrifice.

To start making this card I began with a piece of white A4 card I used dark brown PanPastel (that I mixed from brown and black) and used a sofft sponge to apply it in a streaky fashion, then I used a pair of scissors to roughen up the edges of the card. Next I dropped black ink on to the paper and used a straw to spread it randomly on the page, left it to dry and then scored down the center to make it into an A5 card blank. Setting that aside I took some Coredinations cardstock from Potion no. 9 and ran it through my Cuttlebug with a Provo Craft Cuttlebug embossing folder then sanded the black side to reveal the colour underneath, cut roughly in to 3 pieces then ripped and rolled one piece sticking them all to the card and then sticking the rolled piece in to place. Next I stamped out my 5 pound note (stamp from Indigo Blu) and coloured it using green PanPastel, then cut it out very  roughly with  scissors and stuck it in place.

Finally I added a feather (courtesy of a birdie who lives in my garden)  and melted some wax from a candle and dripped it on.

I hope you have enjoyed my card making tutorial / walk through guide on how to make your own homemade versions of these cards please feel free to let me how you get on with making your own.

Thank you for reading this post, please do stop by the challenge blog and join in, it’s a lot of fun and I love to see all  of your wonderful cards plus you get to see all of the lovely cards that the other members of the design team have made and you could win yourself a £5 online voucher for Your Creativity Store. I love to hear any comments you have and hope to see your cards in the challenge.

Lindsay xx

About craftymonster81

I have always enjoyed arts and crafts of many different kinds and have recently found that card making / paper craft is a real passion for me. I draw / paint alot of my own designs for my cards but also use products from many of the well loved crafty names out there too. I am currently looking for work as an illustrator / craft designer and have now set up a page on this blog called My Artwork Gallery to show some of my work. I love to see your comments on either my artwork or my cards so please feel free to leave any comments you may have and if anyone is interested in any of my artwork please feel free to contact me. Thanks for looking at my blog. Lindsay xx

15 responses »

  1. Wow Lindsay there has been a lot of work gone into this card and it shows. Love all the detail and the additional touch of some real chicken wire – very textural!! x

  2. Hi Lindsay, what a lot of fab cards you have made since my last visit – and apologies that it’s taken me so long to come visit you again! Have been busy over the half-term holidays, but am going to be a regular visitor again now that my daughter has gone back and I’ve got more ‘me’ time again! Sarah

  3. wow love the depth on this gorgeous creation and good luck in my candy draw, thank you so much for your lovely comment
    Hugs Kate xx

Leave a Reply

