Critters Christmas Party card making tutorial / walk through guide

Standard

Hello, I hope you have all had a nice day and a great evening. I recently received a sample pack of some new card and loved it so much a wanted to tell you all about it, it feels gorgeously  soft and smooth and using Promarkers on it gives you brilliant results and  on top of that its a good  weighty card and it scores and folds wonderfully so its fab for paper engineering. This card is now on sale at Your Creativity  Store  it’s called Elegance Satin Super Smooth  Card and there are different weights and quantities to choose from on the website  along with Promarkers, Copic Markers,  PanPastels and lots of other crafty goodies. Anyway I wont ramble on anymore here is the card I have made to show you how good it is.

This card making tutorial / walk through guide will take you through each step of how to make your own homemade version of this card, the tutorial also includes all the measurements you need.

  

To make this card I began with 3 pieces of  the A4 300gsm Elegance Satin super smooth card , with the  first 2 pieces  I measured and scored lines at 148.5mm  (the center) and  74mm in  from the left hand side (with the card  in a landscape position). I then took the 3rd piece and measured and cut it in half (so that I have 2 A5  pieces) and then put the smaller  pieces of card to one side. I took  both pieces that I scored and stuck the two widest sections of the card together so that there is folded section on either side of the wider piece that you stuck. Next I took my A5 pieces of card and stuck  them to the edge panels that measure 74mm wide  (you  are basically making two easel cards  and sticking them together so that the easel mechanisms face each other). I used spray adhesive to stick my card together and then used wooden clothes pegs to hold it in place whilst the glue dried (you can buy little clamps instead of using  pegs  but they are more expensive and usually have ridged edges that will leave an imprint in  your card so I use pegs). When your card is constructed it should look something like the picture below.

Next I cut out 3 A5 panels of silver paper to cover  the three main sections of the card and then I took two  sheets of white  printer paper a snowflake and flourish stamp from Inkadinkado and I stamped repeatedly with perfect medium until both sheets were completely covered by the stamped image. Next I mixed up some blue PanPastel with some mica powder and used a Sofft tool to add the colour to the paper creating my backing paper. When I had finished adding  the colour  and used a fixitive I cut  out three panels of this slightly smaller than A5 and stuck them in place on  the card.

I then took another  sheet of  the Elegance Satin super smooth card and stamped out  my images, for this I used 1 Penny Black Margaret Sherry collection wood mounted stamp, 1 Penny Black wood mounted stamp, 1 clear acrylic Penny Black stamp from the T  for transparent wonderful set and a christmas tree stamp that does not have a name on it. For the first image (working from left to write of the card) I used the acrylic stamp  first putting him in  to place where I wanted him and then stamped the same image on scrap paper cut it out and  placed it over the original stamped image to act as a mask. Next I took the wood  mounted stamp with the bear and stamped that on to scrap paper cutting  out only the bear and used this as a mask in a slightly  different way, I  inked up my stamp and then using a repostionable glue stuck the bear mask to the part of the stamp where the bear was  positioned and then stamped the image on to my card so that it over lapped the hedgehog I had masked earlier. I then  also stamped my tree (away from the first images leaving plenty of space around them for cutting them out. Then I took the wood mounted stamp with the hedgehogs and stamped them on to the card  (again keeping away from the other images and leaving plenty  of space for cutting) and then stamped these on to scrap paper and cut them out placing them over the first image to act as a mask and used the wood mounted stamp with the bear stamping over the top of the mask (with the mask  removed from the bear this time as I wanted him in this image). Finally I stamped out my greeting (which is a Stampendous wood mounted stamp) and then I removed all of my scrap paper masks and coloured in my images with Promarkers and cut them  out using Spellbinders Nestabilities (except for  the tree which I cut out with scissors). I then  cut out layers of the silver paper to mount the images on to and stuck them in to place on my card.

Once this was done I drew a few little parcels on  bits of left over  card, coloured them in, glittered them and cut  them out sticking them on to the card around the tree and the second image using 3d glue  gel. I then cut out some snowflakes from holographic paper using some Marianne Design dies and stuck them in to place and finally tied two  bows in blue silk ribbon  and stuck them beneath the two main images.

Your homemade card is now finished I hope you have enjoyed reading this card making tutorial / walk through guide please feel free to let me know how you get on with making your own handmade cards.

Thank you for reading this post,  please do check out  Your Creativity Store to   get hold  of this wonderful card, I love to hear any comments that you have.

Lindsay xx

About craftymonster81

I have always enjoyed arts and crafts of many different kinds and have recently found that card making / paper craft is a real passion for me. I draw / paint alot of my own designs for my cards but also use products from many of the well loved crafty names out there too. I am currently looking for work as an illustrator / craft designer and have now set up a page on this blog called My Artwork Gallery to show some of my work. I love to see your comments on either my artwork or my cards so please feel free to leave any comments you may have and if anyone is interested in any of my artwork please feel free to contact me. Thanks for looking at my blog. Lindsay xx

11 responses »

  1. oh just love these hun,great images and love the ribbon you have added,to them just super work hun hugs cherylxxxx

  2. Oh wow!! You’ve made such adorable Christmas designs here sweetie!! Such a darling image and the perfect little bow!! 🙂 Hope you have a great weekend friend! HUGS 🙂

  3. Wow, another fabulous card Lindsay. You put so much thought and effort into everything you produce and it shows. – Wonderful xx

  4. A fabulous design of card and it looks super impressive. It seemed quite complicated to make, but when you said that it was basically 2 easel cards it all became clearer in my mind.

    thanks for your lovely comments on my blog…..I had been trying to find your blog but couldnt see a link in your profile, then today I just saw the link to your web page at the side. I should have looked there first! lol. CoB

  5. Hi Linsay. Beautiful card. It must have taken ages to make. Thanks for the heads up on the card. I have been looking for some decent card to stamp onto for ages.
    Have a great weekend.
    Florence x

  6. Hi Lindsay, this is a gorgeous card and I can tell how much time you put into it. Whoever receives it is one lucky person. I love the snowman scenes and how the card opens up with the different panels. Very nice!

Leave a Reply

