PanPastel Uk Challenge – Week 3 – Autumn Colours card making tutorial / walk through guide and how to make an easel card

Standard

Hello, here are my makes for  the PanPastel DT inspiration, this week the theme is Autumn Colours and the other members of the design team have come  up  with  some gorgeous designs so please pop over to the PanPastel UK Challenge blog, have a look and join in. Remember your first entry can be  made using any medium, its only if you  wish to make a second entry that you must use PanPastels and the maximum number of entries each is two so everybody can join in and the winner gets a £5 online voucher for Your Creativity Store.

In this walk through guide / card making tutorial I will take you through step by step instructions on how to make your  own  homemade versions including making your own papers and highlighting papers you already have and making an easel card.

To begin making this card I started with two A4 sheets of white glossy card, I took an old perfect medium (its important to be an old one because this took a few layers and  a new one would have been ruined, I tend to keep an old one and a new one so that the older one can be used for messy projects). Using my old dirty looking perfect medium I took the ink pad and pressed it on to the glossy surface of the card repeatedly until the card was as covered a possible I then took  a sofft sponge and added a mix of  shades of brown, red, black and orange PanPastels and applied them to the (now sticky) card blending them in to one another as I went and  then repeated this process three  times  (until I was happy with the colour coverage). Do this with both  sheets of white glossy card.

Once I was happy  with this I took my Tim Holtz blending tool (with  the felt attachments) and my Adirondack alcohol inks, using a small amount of lake mist, peach bellini and  willow, and slightly more of lemonade and  gold mixative and finally a lot of sandal I applied the alcohol inks on top of the PanPastel using a dabbing motion with the blending tool. I was thrilled with the results as I  felt that using the PanPastels with  the alcohol inks created a far more solid colour than alcohol inks would have alone and an I loved the look.

Once both pieces of glossy white card were finished I used once piece to form the base of my easel card by measuring and scoring lines down the card vertically (with your card in landscape position) at 7.4cm in from the left hand side and 14.8cm in from the left hand side of the card. I folded both score lines over to make a flat base with the folded areas forming a small triangle shape on top. Once this was done I used some leaf patterned papers that were free from Cardmaking and Papercraft magazine to decorate the inside of the card.

I  then took the  other piece of card and cut it in half so that I had two A5 pieces I put  those aside and cut a piece of black card slightly smaller than A5 and layered this on to one of the A5 pieces of the card I decorated earlier. Next I took the remaining piece of A5 card and cut out another smaller panel to layer inside the black, being careful to make sure I left a long thin strip of card for my stopper. I then drew my conkers and leaves colouring them in using PanPastels and glazing the center of the conkers with  clear nail varnish. I  cut these out arranged them on to the layers I got ready earlier and  stuck them  in to place keeping one conker aside for the stopper.

I then  placed glue on to the bottom half of the back of my topper and stuck it to the front facing section of the of the triangle shape on the base card. It is important to only glue the bottom half to ensure that your card keeps the easel movement.

Finally I took the long thin strip  of card and wrapped some ribbon around it, sticking  only at the back on the plain side of the card and tying  it at the front, I then stuck my  final conker over the top of the ribbon and used a 3d glue gel to  stick the stopper in place.

I started making this card by taking one piece of A4 orange  embossed leather effect card I used a sofft tool and brown PanPastel all over the front of the card to highlight the details of the embossing.

This picture shows another piece of the same card (to the right of the picture) underneath the piece I added the PanPastel  to as I thought the difference to the look of the card from such a simple thing was amazing.

Next I scored a line down the center of the card to make an A5 card base and punched the corners of the card with corner punches (with the card base in  the landscape position I used a rounded edge for the top two and a decorative punch for the bottom two).

I then took a piece of white super smooth card and coloured it using a dark shade of PanPastel and a sofft sponge, I chose to give mine a streaky effect by applying the colour in lines  but you could blend a smooth even colour or try a different pattern if you wish.

I took the card I had just coloured and used Spellbinder Nestabilities to cut out a large shape for my main image, a frame to go around it and a smaller shape for my greeting all using one set of dies. Next I took the frame shape and covered it with double-sided tape and then applied gilding flakes and smoothed them over with a wire sponge and then took  the small shape and stamped my greeting on to it using a stamp from Tim Holtz Visual Artistry Miniatures. When the ink for  my greeting was dry I took a quickie glue pen and went along  the embossed edge that you get when using Spellbinders and when tacky applied gilding flakes once  again using a wire sponge to smooth it  off.

Next I drew my acorns and leaves colouring  them in using PanPastels, cut them out and put them to one side. I stuck my large shape in the central area of the base card and then stuck my gilded frame around it, then arranged the leaves and acorns and stuck them in place.

Finally I stuck my greeting in the top left corner of the card and made a layered bow with ribbon that I coloured using PanPastels and I stuck it just below the main image (if you would like to know how to make the layered bow please see my previous tutorial on this).

Your homemade cards are now complete, I hope you have enjoyed reading this card making tutorial / walk through guide please feel free to let me know how you get on with making your own homemade cards.

Thank you for reading this post and please do come along to join in with the PanPastel UK Challenge blog, as always I love to hear any comments you may have.

Lindsay xx

About craftymonster81

I have always enjoyed arts and crafts of many different kinds and have recently found that card making / paper craft is a real passion for me. I draw / paint alot of my own designs for my cards but also use products from many of the well loved crafty names out there too. I am currently looking for work as an illustrator / craft designer and have now set up a page on this blog called My Artwork Gallery to show some of my work. I love to see your comments on either my artwork or my cards so please feel free to leave any comments you may have and if anyone is interested in any of my artwork please feel free to contact me. Thanks for looking at my blog. Lindsay xx

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

