Relax card making tutorial / walk through guide using vellum

Standard

Hi, this card is one that I have made for a friend’s birthday using a stamp from Penny Black Margaret Sherry Collection. When  I first saw this stamp I absolutely fell in  love with it  so hopefully my friend  will like it too!

This card making tutorial / walk through guide will take you through how to make the above card.

To make this card I began with a bright orange A5 card blank in the landscape position. All I did with the base card itself to begin with is to round the corners using a corner punch. I then cut out an A5 piece of white vellum and rounded the corners on that aswell. Next I took an Xcut stitch and craft designer borders stencil (I believe this is the romantic one but have long since lost the packaging and am not 100% sure about that) and embossed and paper pricked the design at the top and the bottom of the vellum and then just one block of the border pattern to both the left and right edges.

Next I stamped out my image on to white super smooth card and coloured it in with promarkers, I then used a spellbinder nestabilities die to cut out the image and then drew around the outside edge of the same die on to black card and cut it out (the reason I used the same die and drew around it was because I wanted a slimmer edge than the next size up would have been). I layered the image on to the black card I just cut out and set them to one side.

I then went back to the vellum that I had embossed earlier and wrapped my ribbon  around the piece of vellum (just under the top embossed section) tying it in a knot at the front of the vellum. I also glued the ribbon in to place so  that it would not move but was carefull only to glue where the ribbon overlaps itself so that the glue would not show through the vellum.

Next  I took my main image  and  stuck that to the front of the vellum in the center of the embossed areas. I also took a yoyo that  I made using a clover yoyo maker (and stuck a pearl button to the front of) and stuck that to the bottom right of the vellum just under the main image.

Finally I turned over he vellum (once the glue was dry on everything I previously stuck to the front) and I placed glue on the back of the vellum only in places that the embellishments and topper were covering on the front (so behind the topper the ribbon and the yoyo so that glue cannot be seen through the vellum) and then stuck the vellum to my base card.

Your homemade card is now complete I hope you have enjoyed this card making tutorial / walk through guide, please feel free to let me know how you get on with your own homemade cards.

Thank you for reading this post, as always I  would love to hear any comments or questions you have.

Lindsay xx

About craftymonster81

I have always enjoyed arts and crafts of many different kinds and have recently found that card making / paper craft is a real passion for me. I draw / paint alot of my own designs for my cards but also use products from many of the well loved crafty names out there too. I am currently looking for work as an illustrator / craft designer and have now set up a page on this blog called My Artwork Gallery to show some of my work. I love to see your comments on either my artwork or my cards so please feel free to leave any comments you may have and if anyone is interested in any of my artwork please feel free to contact me. Thanks for looking at my blog. Lindsay xx

7 responses »

  1. This is gorgeous Lindsay, love that stamp too, so fun and cute. I’m sure your friend will fall in love with it too 🙂 Hugs xxx

  2. morning lyndsay,bless you for popping over to my blog and for becoming a follower really appreciate that,as for your card just love it,adore vellum,I do not use it enough but really love what you have done with it and just love that image,your friend will just love this sure of that love hugs cherylxxxx

  3. I love your card Lyndsay ! This is one of my favorite images ! I am a cat person so it’s got to be a winner ! Hugs and love from Catherine

Leave a Reply

