House Mouse Christmas card making tutorial / walk through guide

Standard

 

Hello, today I decided to take a break from DT tasks  on my list and pull out my brand new House Mouse christmas decoupage from Joanna Sheen, I got it over a week ago and  have been itching to make something with it.

In this card making tutorial / walk through guide I will take you through how to make this card with step by step instructions and measurements.

I have decided to enter this card in to the House Mouse and friends Monday challenge blog, I am very new to all of this but it looks like fun and what better place to start challenges than with house mouse.

To make this card I began with a piece of card printed with a music score on it (which I believe came from Payperbox). With the card in a landscape position I measured in 148mm from the left  hand edge and 74mm from the left hand edge. You then fold over the first score line and second so that the card doubles back.

Next I took the doupaged image that I had  cut and stuck together earlier and I layered it on to green mirror board and trimmed the edges of the mirror board with decorative scissors.

I have not gone in to detail on building up the decoupage as I thought cut out layer one, stick on layer one etc would make for very boring reading, the best tip I can give for decoupage is that if it’s not die cut and you have to cut it out yourself have a pair of normal craft scissors, a pair of precision scissors or decoupage snips and a craft knife and use a combination of all three as each are good for different things. The other thing I wanted to quickly mention at this point is that when building my decoupage I kept one of the little mice from one of the layers aside to use on the inside of the card.

Next I ran piece of white centura pearl card through my crafts-too embossing folder with the baubles and snowflakes and at this point I decided to pull out my PanPastels mixed with mica powders to highlight the embossed design (I really didn’t intend to use PanPastels for this when I was planning the design in my head but they are just so hand for so many things! )

I then added the little mouse I kept aside earlier in amongst the baubles and stuck one of the greetings from the decoupage sheet in the center of the bossed design. Once this was all done I layered it on red mirror board (straight-edged to match in with the border on the decopage) and then on to green mirror board which I trimmed with the same decorative scissors I used earlier.

Now that all the pieces are assembled I stuck the embossed design centrally to the large back panel of the card and then stuck the decoupaged image to the front layer of the card (remembering to only put glue on one half  of the decoupage design so as not to glue your card shut)

Finally I layered the other greeting from the decoupage sheet on to green mirror board and once again trimmed with decorative scissors, then stuck in diagonally across the top left of the card front, used  a zig glue pen to stick some frosting to main decoupaged  image and then tied a couple of bows with some christmas ribbon (one much larger than the other). I stuck the large bow to the front  bottom of the decoupaged image (centrally) and the small one to the top right corner of the embossed image at the back (inside) of the card.

Your homemade card is now complete, I hope you have enjoyed this card making tutorial / walk through guide on how to make your homemade  card, please feel free to let me know how you got on with this.

Thanks a lot for taking the time to read this post, as always your comments or questions  are very much appreciated.

I would like to enter this card in to the House Mouse and friends monday challenge blog for challenge number 105 Christmas Sparkles  (by  the way the  house  mouse and friends challenge blog is fab! so many pretty cards).

Lindsay xx

About craftymonster81

I have always enjoyed arts and crafts of many different kinds and have recently found that card making / paper craft is a real passion for me. I draw / paint alot of my own designs for my cards but also use products from many of the well loved crafty names out there too. I am currently looking for work as an illustrator / craft designer and have now set up a page on this blog called My Artwork Gallery to show some of my work. I love to see your comments on either my artwork or my cards so please feel free to leave any comments you may have and if anyone is interested in any of my artwork please feel free to contact me. Thanks for looking at my blog. Lindsay xx

11 responses »

  1. Hi Lindsay, thanks for dropping by my blog and becoming a follower:) I love your blog, its full of so many brilliant tutorials. I will have to check out these pan pastels, never heard of them before:( I am a big fan of house mouse especially the decoupage and your card is just stunning!!
    Big hugs
    Pinky

  2. Your creation is sooooo adorable here Lindsay!! I love the added sparkle snow and your creative fold! The decoupage is so sweet too!! 🙂 I hope you will think about entering this into the House Mouse & Friends current challenge of Christmas sparkle!! HUGS

  3. Super FAB design and folds. LOVELY sparkle!! Love THIS!!! Thanks so much for joining us at House-Mouse & Friends Monday Challenge. 🙂 Good luck with the draw and we hope to see you playing again next time. 🙂

  4. So, so cute! Lots of beautiful sparkle, love the fold and the mice are just darling. Thanks for joining us at the House Mouse and Friends Monday Challenge, hope you will join us often.

    Hugs, Sue

  5. Very creative HM Xmas creation Lindsay..great trad crimbo colours lovely images & decoupage..

    thanks for sharing at HM & Friends monday chall hope to see you again..

    smiles Christine x

  6. Can I just say what relief to discover one who in fact knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You actually understand how to bring a concern to light making it essential. Lots more people ought to check this out and understand why side of your story. I cant think youre no more wellliked since you certainly contain the gift.

Leave a Reply

