How to make a layered bow card making or scrapbooking tutorial/ walk through guide

Standard

 Hello as promised this is my walk through guide / card making or scrapbooking tutorial on how to  make a layered bow it’s really very easy to  do and  I will take you through step by step how to make your  own handmade version at home.

To begin making your layered bow you need to take your ribbon and cut the various lengths of ribbon that you want (for  this one I have used 3 lengths of ribbon but you can  have as many or as few as you want), when cutting out the ribbon I normally double back the ribbon before cutting so I can see what size loops the ribbon would make.  Whatever size ribbon and  however many layers you choose to have the process is the same. Begin by doubling over your ribbon and checking the size of the loop you will make, the first one you cut will be your biggest loop so judge it against the space you want it to fill, when you have cut the first one judge the next one against the first making it slightly smaller and so on and so on. Once you have all your layers cut you will need to cut another small piece of ribbon, the size of this piece of ribbon  depends on the width of your ribbon and the number of  layers you have as it needs to be long enough  to wrap around the center of your layered loops at least once  to seal them at the back.

When you have all of your  pieces of ribbon cut take either double-sided tape or a clear drying glue gel and place a small amount on the inner side  of  the ribbon (if your ribbon has a right side and a wrong side) at the very end and then bring the other end around to stick to it forming a circle as in the  picture above.  Then  put another small piece  of glue  or tape to the end you just stuck down (on the inside of your circle) and press the front of the circle to the back join that you put the glue on forming a figure 8 shape from your circle as in the picture above. Repeat this process with each of your loops  (keeping the smaller extra piece separate to one side), when they are all done take your largest figure 8  and put a little adhesive on  the middle of the front of your figure 8 (where it is stuck  to form the figure 8 ) take the next size down and layer that centrally on  top of  the first. Do  this with all of your layers and when they are all layered take the smaller piece and wrap it around the area where the layers join sealing it and sticking it at the back.

Your homemade  layered bow is now complete I hope you have enjoyed my cardmaking and scrapbooking tutorial / walkthrough guide, please feel free  to let me know how you get on  with making your  own versions at home.

Thank you for looking at my blog and any comments you have would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Lindsay xx

About craftymonster81

I have always enjoyed arts and crafts of many different kinds and have recently found that card making / paper craft is a real passion for me. I draw / paint alot of my own designs for my cards but also use products from many of the well loved crafty names out there too. I am currently looking for work as an illustrator / craft designer and have now set up a page on this blog called My Artwork Gallery to show some of my work. I love to see your comments on either my artwork or my cards so please feel free to leave any comments you may have and if anyone is interested in any of my artwork please feel free to contact me. Thanks for looking at my blog. Lindsay xx

One response »

Leave a Reply

