PanPastel UK Challenge Blog First Challenge – Anything Goes and card making tutorial for the pop up diamond card

Standard

Hiya here are my sample cards for the first challenge on the PanPastel UK Challenge blog. The first challenge goes live 8am Sunday 25th September, the theme for the first challenge is “Anything Goes” and each week the winner gets a £5 online voucher for Your creativity Store.

This card making tutorial/ walk  through guide will take you through how to make each of these cards and also includes step by step instructions (including  measurements) on how to make your own homemade pop up diamond card.

 This card was made using PanPastel mixed with embossing powder to heat emboss the images, next i used two colours of PanPastel to colour the whole card blending them together as I went and then I coloured in the flowers with
promarkers (on top of the PanPastel base colour) and highlighted them with a
white gel pen. Finally i stamped out my greeting cut it out and framed it with a
die cut circle and then added a few butterfly embellishments to finish.

  For this card I took a piece of white super smooth card for my topper and began with yellow and white PanPastels for the moon, blending them first in a small circular pattern  and then working my way outwards mixing in the
darker colours for the sky. I stamped the trees (stamps from Crafty Individuals) with perfect medium and used dark PanPastels to colour them, put in a few stars with a quickie glue pen and glitter and then used a zig glue pen to draw a border around the topper once it was stuck to the base card then pressed glitter in to the tacky line to form my border.

 I used a piece of brown paper and brown PanPastel mixed with mica powder to make the background paper, using Stampin up stamps, sofft tools and perfect medium to create the backing paper I wanted.

Then I used the same brown PanPastel and mica mixture for the stamped images on
cream paper  (once  again using Stampin Up stamps, perfect  medium and  sofft  tool to apply the PanPastel). I also used the brown PanPastel very lightly to give a very slight colour to
the cream paper for a distress style effect.

I then layered everything up on black card and used a zig glue pen and brown glitter to create a border.

 

For this card I took one A4 piece  of red holographic card, turned it over so that the non-holographic side was facing me  and measured and scored a line from top to bottom at 7.4cm and 14.8cm in from the right  hand side (with the card in a landscape  position). Next I measured 7.4cm in from the left hand side of the card at both the top and bottom (DO  Not score between these two points). I then took a ruler and scored a diagonal line from  the top left mark at 7.4cm to the bottom  of the score line 7.4cm in from the right and  then done the  same from the bottom left mark at 7.4cm in to the top of the score line 7.4cm in from the right.Once all of your scoring is  done mark the very  left hand edge of the card  half way up (10.5cm)  and draw a line from your 10.5cm mark to the marks at the top and bottom of the card  7.4cms in from the left to  create your  diamond shape and then  cut along these lines. Here is a picture of a rough template I made with the lines drawn in for you to see. 
Next  comes the fiddly bit,  after bending along all score lines to loosen them, you need to push the smaller  triangle shapes that the  score  lines have created so  that they  sit between the diamond shape and the larger triangle shape. Then after  decorating the front side of the 7.4cm wide panel that you have left stick the triangle to  the 7.4cm wide panel  using a strong glue like collal glue gel or pinflair ( i also use wooden clothes pegs to hold it together until  the glue dries).
I then stamped out the image (stamps from Humfreys Corner, Crafters Companion that were free with Papercraft essentials magazine) and the greeting using perfect medium and black PanPastel to colour the outlines then used PanPastel and sofft  tools to colour in the image. Then i cut  out the image and layered  on  to green  mirror  board.
I used white ribbon that I coloured using PanPastel in red and green to make a layered bow and stuck it near the bottom of my diamond (will post a  demo  of  this on here soon) and then added some candy cane charms to finish.
Your homemade card is now complete I hope you have enjoyed  this card making tutorial / walk through guide . Please feel free to let me know how you get on with making your own homemade cards, I love to hear any comments or questions you may have
Thanks  for looking  and please  do stop by the challenge blog on Sunday to  take part and also take a look at the fabulous cards made by the other members of the design team (they really are gorgeous!)

Lindsay xx

About craftymonster81

I have always enjoyed arts and crafts of many different kinds and have recently found that card making / paper craft is a real passion for me. I draw / paint alot of my own designs for my cards but also use products from many of the well loved crafty names out there too. I am currently looking for work as an illustrator / craft designer and have now set up a page on this blog called My Artwork Gallery to show some of my work. I love to see your comments on either my artwork or my cards so please feel free to leave any comments you may have and if anyone is interested in any of my artwork please feel free to contact me. Thanks for looking at my blog. Lindsay xx

5 responses »

  1. Lindsay, I love your creations. You have a great way with anything to do with Paper. Love the way you belnd the Panpastel as well. Fabulous !! Berni x

  2. Both beautiful cards Lindsay. First I’ve heard of Panpastels and will have to check them out. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and the kind cimment, Hope to see you back again soon. “Hugs” Carol

Leave a Reply

