Kinetic card made using PanPastels walk through guide / tutorial

Standard

Hiya and welcome to my  step by step guide / tutorial on how to make the Kinetic card above. In this tutorial I will take you through how to make your own Kinetic card at home.

To begin making this card I took a sheet of A4 holographic card, I turned the card over so that the back was facing me in   a landscape position and then drew lines in  pencil at  4cm in from both sides and then 5cm in from  the top and the bottom. Next I took  my craft knife  cut  along the 5cm  in lines (at top  and bottom  of the page) cutting from the line 4cm  in  from the left to  the line 4cm in  from the right (do  not cut past the lines). Then i took my embossing tool and  my ruler and scored all the way along both of  the  lines that were marked 4cms in  from the sides  and then measured lines  at 99mm in from each side and  scored each of them from top to bottom of the card. Once this  is done  you need to bend the card  as shown in this picture  so that where the middle piece  is  a mountain fold then a  valley  fold  the top  and bottom are a valley  fold followed by a mountain fold.

Now that the card structure is built I move on to  creating the paper to decorate  it, to  begin with  i stamped several of the flower  image  facing different directions all over  a white  piece  of super smooth card  using perfect medium. I mixed some of  the  PanPastel  with embossing powder and sprinkled it over the images, using a  heat tool to heat  emboss the image. Next I  used the PanPastel and some of their range of sofft tools to cover  the entire surface  of the product (the great thing is with PanPastels  this is an extremely  quick process, you can mix the  exact shade you want and it uses almost no product at all, If using them for  the  first make sure  you  have  a little pot to keep any excess in for  use another time  as you will almost certainly not  need as much as you think!) When the entire area was covered and I was happy with the shade I  used kitchen paper towels to  buff  the colour a little and  then sprayed  with fixative. Turning  the card over to measure on  the back I measured 7  rectangles and cut them out,  2 at 21cm x 3.5cm (for  the sides of the card), 2  at 9cm x 5cm  (for the middle panels at the top and bottom of  the  card), 2 at 5cm x 10cm  (for  center panels to the left and the right) and 1  at 9cm x 10cm (for the center panel).

Once you have  all of your panels cut out stick  them to the appropriate place using a flat  glue  and put the card to one side to dry. I took  another  piece of  white card  stamped out  my greeting using perfect medium and used black PanPastel to colour it then using the same shade of purple PanPastel i mixed earlier I coloured the rest of the area around the greeting purple (i also at this point took a piece of white ribbon and used the purple to colour that too). I cut this out using my nestabilities dies and cut a slighty larger  version of the same shape using the same type of holographic card that we used for the card base. I layered these up and stuck them to the top right corner of the card being  carefull to only stick it  to the outside  edges and not the center panel at all (which needs to be able to move in a different direction to the outside edges).

Next I made some paper flowers  using the wet scrunching technique (I will post a separate walk through for these on here  soon) and when  they were  finished and dried I stuck them on to the card.

Finally I took the piece of ribbon I coloured earlier and stuck it to the top left of the card.

Your homemade kinetic card is now  complete, I hope you  have enjoyed reading my card making tutorial.

Thanks for reading, please feel free to  leave any comments questions or suggestions  and remember to check out the PanPastel Challenge blog and Your creativity store.

Lindsay xx

About craftymonster81

I have always enjoyed arts and crafts of many different kinds and have recently found that card making / paper craft is a real passion for me. I draw / paint alot of my own designs for my cards but also use products from many of the well loved crafty names out there too. I am currently looking for work as an illustrator / craft designer and have now set up a page on this blog called My Artwork Gallery to show some of my work. I love to see your comments on either my artwork or my cards so please feel free to leave any comments you may have and if anyone is interested in any of my artwork please feel free to contact me. Thanks for looking at my blog. Lindsay xx

One response »

Leave a Reply

